Annual Tribute Event: Human Relations Award



AJC Houston presents The Human Relations Award annually to a civic or business leader demonstrating exceptional work in preserving America's democratic heritage.

Whether building bridges or mutual respect and understanding among diverse ethnic and religious groups; supporting Israel's right to exist in peace and security; fighting the scourge of international terrorism, anti-Semitism, and all forms of hatred and extremism; or defending democracy, religious freedom, and human rights, AJC is at the forefront of the most critical issues of the day.  Through innovative programs, education, research, and diplomatic outreach, AJC strongly impacts our local, national, and global communities.


1981 Allied Bancshares, Inc. (accepting the award: Walter E. Johnson)
1982 Arthur Andersen & Company (accepting the award: Randall B. McDonald)
1983 Shell Oil Company (accepting the award: P.J. Carroll)
1984 Texas Commerce Bancshares, Inc. (accepting the award: Ben F. Love)
1985 George W. Strake, Jr.
1986 Mayor Kathryn J. Whitmire
1987 Robert R. Onstead
1988 V.H. "Pete" Van Horn III
1989 Robert C. Lanier
1990 John E. Walsh, Jr.
1991 Governor Ann Richards
1992 E. William Barnett
1993 Eugene H. Vaughan, Jr.
1994 Laura Lee Blanton
1995 Richard A. Royds
1996 Arthur & Joyce Schechter (National recipients)
1997 Ned S. Holmes
1998 R. Bruce LaBoon
1999 Michael K. Jhin
2000 ******
2001 ******
2002 Thomas Schlamme
2003 Donna and Tony Vallone
2004 Leo Linbeck, III
2005 *****
2006 Melissa Meisgeier Noriega and Honorable Rick Noriega
2007 BMC Software and Bob Beauchamp
2008 Charles Foster
2009 Paul Murphy
2010 Don Woo
2011 Mike Ballases
2012 Amb. Chase Untermeyer
2013 Bob Borochoff
2014 Ric Campo
2015 David Barish, Welcome Wilson, Sr. and Welcome Wilson, Jr.
2016 Tony Chase, Gilbert Garcia, Sanjay Ram