Tribute Event: Helene Susman Women of Prominence Award

EveAJC Houston presents the Helene Susman Woman of Prominence Award on an annual basis at the AJC Houston Annual Meeting.  In honor of his mother, Helene, Stephen and Karen Susman founded the award to recognize a woman in the Houston Jewish community who has demonstrated commitment in her profession and in communal service in such a manner as to distinguish herself as a role model for other women.

>From 1934 to 1940, Helene Susman practiced law as a solo practitioner and became the first woman from Texas to be admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of the United States.  In 1949 Helene was widowed with two small children to rear.  As a result of this misfortune, she returned full time to the legal profession but remained dedicated to her volunteer activities, which included serving as President of the district for the National Federation of Temple Sisterhoods and as a board member of Jewish Family Service, the Jewish Federation of Greater Houston, the American Jewish Committee and Seven Acres.

Award Recipients

1989 Dr. Helen Schaffer*
1990 Ruth Fred*
1991 Dr. Barbara Schachtel
1992 Hilda Rich
1993 Judge Ruby Sondock
1994 Ruth Lack*
1995 Dr. Barbara G. Samuels
1996 Karol Musher
1997 Peggy Samet Fine
1998 Alice Lok Cahana
1999 Madeleine Appel
2000 Kay Schwarz Feldt
2001 Dr. Julia Mazow
2002 Joyce Gilbert
2003 Norma Trusch
2004 Davna Brook
2005 Dr. Ruth Strudler
2006 Carol Nelkin
2009 Dr. Faith Marshall

2013 Rene Karpas

2014 Sandy Block

*z'l of blessed memory

Global Forum